1. Welcome to the Foot Health Forum community where you can ask about foot problems and get help, as well as be up-to-date with the latest foot health information. Only registered members can ask a question, but you do not need to register to respond and give help. Please become part of the community (here) and check out the shop.

Screw Removal for Lisfranc/Multiple Fractures

Discussion in 'Ask your questions here' started by Andrea, Jan 21, 2011.

1. Andrea

Andrea Guest

Members do not see these Ads. Sign Up.
    First, I will preface with I am not seeking medical advice, but rather a general idea of what to expect in a postoperative situation to be described below. I am a former nurse, disabled on the job in an unrelated incident.

In Sept 2010, I sustained a Lisfranc injury to my right foot which included 7 fractures (1st, 2nd, and 3rd metatarsals were displaced, Lisfranc avulsion fx from 1st metatarsal as well as 3 cuneiform fx's). In early October, I underwent ORIF (3 screws through 1st, 2nd, and 3rd metatarsals and K-wire for 4th and 5th) and remained NWB for 2 months progression to partial weightbearing in the past 6 weeks. K-wire was removed from 4th/5th metatarsal in Nov in the office. My saving grace, according to my surgeon, is I have a really high arch, thus pushing back fusion indefinitely.

It is the ortho's assertion that we have reached a point where the screws are impeding progress and he wants to schedule removal for a month from now.

I had a ridiculously complex recovery period for the ORIF due to pre-existing DJD/DDD, compartment syndrome, and inadequate pain control. I am less concerned with pain control this time as my pain mgmt doc has started me on morphine tid with Norco for breakthrough for my djd/ddd.