1. Welcome to the Foot Health Forum community where you can ask about foot problems and get help, as well as be up-to-date with the latest foot health information. Only registered members can ask a question, but you do not need to register to respond and give help. Please become part of the community (here) and check out the shop.

Big Toe Pain

Discussion in 'Ask your questions here' started by Unregistered, Oct 1, 2009.

1. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

Members do not see these Ads. Sign Up.
    I work as a cashier about 20-28 hours per week so I am on my feet quite a bit. Yesterday after work, I took my shoes off and immediately noticed pain in my right big toe when I walked. The lower back part of the toe (where it bends) was very sensitive to touch. Today the pain is worse and the toe is slightly swollen in the lower region and feels warm. I cannot bend the toe. The pain is constant whether on my feet or not (throbbing/slight burning), but it is not excruciating or prohibiting me from functioning normally. I just walk on the outside of my foot. I have an appointment with my doctor tomorrow afternoon. I am scheduled to work the following day and I'm very concerned about what is causing this and whether I'll be able to stand on the sore area for 6-8 hours. I have never had foot problems in the past. Could this be the early onset of gout?

2. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

More Big Toe Pain!

Thought I'd add to my original post:

It is now the middle of the night and I can't sleep. The pain and swelling in my toe has increased and it even bothers me to have the bedsheet brush against it. Walking on the edge of my foot is more difficult now because the vibrations irritate the toe. This is an awful feeling!

3. FootDoc

FootDoc New Member